Milk Teeth Anatomy 101

Hello readers! Today we will be talking about milk teeth, also known as baby, primary or deciduous teeth. To-may-to, to-mah-to, right? But to avoid confusion, we shall be using ‘primary tooth/teeth’ throughout this post. Without further ado, let’s get down to business shall we?

How many primary teeth are there in total?

With a normal set of dentition, 20. In cases of anomaly, the amount could be more than 20 (hyperdontia) or less than that (hypodontia or anodontia).

What are the different types of milk teeth?

Well, there are three different types, namely the incisor, canine and molar. Each arch (top and bottom jaw) contains 4 molars, 2 canines and 4 incisors, so that’s 10 teeth multiplied by 2 arches which makes 20 in total. Below is a picture as reference.


Why are there spaces in between children’s teeth and is it normal to have them?

Spacing in between teeth, more notable in the anterior region, is usually present to accommodate the larger permanent teeth. Absence of spaces during the primary dentition is an indication that crowding of teeth may occur when the permanent teeth erupt.


Tune in for next week’s post where we will talk about the time of eruption for each primary tooth. See you next week!



No comments. Leave first!

Leave a reply